Another strong season of athletic performances helped Indiana Tech earn its fifth consecutive Wolverine-Hoosier Athletic Conference (WHAC) Fred Smith Commissioner’s Cup and a fourth-place finish in the NAIA Learfield IMG College Directors’ Cup standings.

Named after longtime Siena Heights athletics director Fred Smith for his outstanding contributions to the league, the WHAC Fred Smith Commissioner’s Cup is awarded annually to the conference’s best-performing athletic program. The Learfield Cup is awarded to the best-performing collegiate athletic program in the nation. Last year, Indiana Tech finished second in the standings.

Here is a wrapup of Indiana Tech’s spring sports seasons:


32-21 overall record. 15-7 in WHAC play, tied for 3rd in the WHAC.

Highlights and accolades:

  • Defeated #1 overall Southeastern University 11-8 on March 10 in Lakeland, Florida
  • Trevor Patterson and Jayden Reed named WHAC Gold Glove Award Winners
  • Hayes Sturtsman (pictured to the left) named to All-Conference First Team, and also tied the WHAC record with 17 strikeouts in a single game
  • Manuel Ascanio, Ashtin Moxey, Jayden Reed, and Mike Snyder named to All-Conference Second Team
  • Finished the season above .500 for the 14th consecutive season

Men’s Golf

Wil Campbell
Wil Campbell

4th/12 in WHAC Championship. Spencer Keller finished third, Wil Campbell finished 17th, and Alex Locke finished 20th.

Highlights and accolades:

  • Spencer Keller earns All-Conference First Team honors

Men’s Lacrosse

Louis Czech
Louis Czech

18-1. WHAC Regular Season (9-0) and Tournament Champions. Advanced to NAIA National Championship in Pensacola Florida, where they were defeated by Reinhardt University, 11-5. Finished the regular season undefeated, the best record in school history. Second NAIA National Championship Runner-Up in a row.

Highlights and accolades:

  • Bryan Seaman earns WHAC Coach of the Year
  • Andrew Ryan earns Offensive Player of the Year
  • Louis Czech, Tom Piotrowski, Andrew Ryan earn All-Conference First Team
  • Blaine Flanigan, Nate Langille, Anthony Tedesco earn All-Conference Second Team
  • Andrew Ryan earns NAIA National Player of the Year
  • Andrew Ryan, Tom Piotrowski, Louis Czech earn NAIA All-America First Team

Men’s Tennis

Jakub Federowicz
Jakub Federowicz

15-6, 5-1 in WHAC play (2nd/7). Lost in WHAC Tournament Final to UNOH.

Highlights and accolades:

  • Two Freshmen, Jakub Federowicz and Callum Partington earn All-Conference First Team
  • Jakub Federowicz named NAIA All-America Honorable Mention

Men’s Outdoor Track and Field

Men's Track Team

WHAC Team Champions. 19th/77 at NAIA National Championships in Gulf Shores, Alabama.

Highlights and accolades:

  • Doug Edgar named WHAC Coach of the Year
  • Shomari Somerville named WHAC Outstanding Performer
  • Joshua Ballar, Dylan Bikim, Logan Bloir, Brayden Crosby, Miles Gray, Zayquan Lincoln, Shomari Somerville, Elisha Stroder named All-Conference First Team
  • Dillan Elkins, Diego Sekiyama-Nava, Ahumad Williams named All-Conference Second Team
  • Miles Gray, Alex Vandor, Michael Warner named All-Conference Honorable Mention
  • Coby Bailey, Dylan Bikim, Dillan Elkins, Zayquan Lincoln, Daunte O’Banion, Michael Warner named NAIA All-Americans

Men’s Volleyball

Men's Volleyball Team

29-3, 13-1 WHAC. WHAC Regular Season and Tournament Champions. Went 0-2 in NAIA National Championship Tournament.

Highlights and accolades:

  • Kyle Shondell named Coach of the Year for second consecutive season
  • Raekwon Rogers and Daynte Stewart earn All Conference First Team
  • Mason Milan earn All-Conference Second Team
  • Daynte Stewart named NAIA All-America Second Team

Women’s Golf

Julia Bockstahler
Julia Bockstahler

2nd/11 in WHAC Championships. Julia Bockstahler finished 4th, Kim Siercks finished 8th, Jenna Boucher finished 12th, Brittany Smith finished 14th.

Highlights and accolades:

  • Julia Bockstahler earns All-Conference First Team
  • Jenna Boucher, Kim Siercks earn All-Conference Second Team

Women’s Lacrosse

Abby Barkdull
Abby Barkdull

8-6 overall, 6-3 WHAC (4th/10). Lost in WHAC Tournament Semifinal to #1 Lawrence Tech.

Highlights and accolades:

  • Abby Barkdull named WHAC Offensive Player of the Year
  • Barkdull, Madi Jarvis named All-Conference First Team
  • Faith Donally named All-Conference Second Team


Jaden Romero
Jaden Romero

24-24 overall, 15-7 WHAC (4th/12).

Highlights and accolades:

  • Meghan Berlin, Olyvia Notter, Maire Trouba named All-Conference Second Team
  • Meghan Berlin named All Defensive Team

Women’s Tennis

Vero Jimenez
Vero Jimenez

17-2 overall, 6-0 WHAC. Regular Season and Tournament WHAC Champions for second consecutive season.

Highlights and accolades:

  • Vero Jimenez named WHAC Player of the Year
  • Jimenez, Marianna Murcia, Abigail Simms named All-Conference First Team

Women’s Outdoor Track and Field

Women's Track Team

WHAC Team Champions. 2nd/71 in NAIA National Championships in Gulf Shores, Alabama.

Highlights and accolades:

  • Doug Edgar named WHAC Coach of the Year
  • Lisa Voyles named WHAC Outstanding Performer
  • Taylor Kyle named WHAC Newcomer of the Year
  • Antoniska Deveaux, Derica Gibson, Soyinne Grenyion, Taylor Kyle, Destinee McGrady, Olaide Olapade, Xuxa Peart, Sha’Londa Terry, Lisa Voyles, Erica Xayarath were NAIA National Champions
  • Destiny Copeland, Antoniska Deveaux, Haven Evans, Derica Gibson, Lily Greiwe, Soyinne Grenyion, Jo’Deci Irby, Katlyn Jones, Taylor Kyle, Mary Leighton, Olaide Olapade, McKenna Palmer, Xuxu Peart, Lily Rothert, Sha’Londa Terry, Lisa Voyles named All-Conference First Team
  • Krista Boese, Antoniska Deveaux, Derica Gibson, Taylor Kyle, Destinee McGrady, Erica Xayarath named All-Conference Second Team
  • Mariam Davis, Katlyn Jones, Kylin Nichols, Jamaya Warthen named All-Conference Honorable Mention
  • Krista Boese, Loanie Cellard, Destiny Copeland, Mariam Davis, Antoniska Deveaux, Haven Evans, Derica Gibson, Lily Greiwe, Soyinne Grenyion, Katlyn Jones, Taylor Kyle, Destinee McGrady, Olaide Olapade, Xuxa Peart, Kiya Pogue, Sha’Londa Terry, Lisa Voyles, Erica Xayarath named NAIA All-Americans

Matt Coomer Takes Reins of Men’s and Women’s Tennis Teams

Former IU Southeast Grenadier standout, Matt Coomer, has been named coach of Indiana Tech’s men’s and women’s tennis teams.

“Coach Coomer brings a wealth of knowledge and experience to our already stellar tennis programs,” said athletic director Jessie Biggs. “With his Indiana ties and coaching resume, we think his impact will be immediate.”

Coomer was previously the head coach at his alma mater, IU Southeast, where the men compiled a 7-12 record while the women finished at 5-10.

“I could not be more excited at the opportunity to lead the Indiana Tech tennis programs and to continue to build upon their recent success,” Coomer said. “I am looking forward to getting to know the players and to helping them achieve their goals both on and off the court.”